Search This Blog

Tuesday, January 21, 2014


In August of 1948 the former parsonage of Wesley (2706 N. Douglas) was dedicated and renamed the 'EDWARD HADDUCK MEMORIAL HALL'.  It was to serve the needs of the community and Wesley as a youth center for social activities, work projects and devotional gatherings by young people of the church.
The previous November a young associate pastor, Edward Hadduck had worked with the youth program at Wesley and had been killed in an auto accident.  Rev. Nuell C. Crain conducted the memorial service featuring a shadow play, "Youth At Worship." Over 350 people attended a picnic supper as part of the dedication ceremony.  The parents of the deceased youth pastor, Mr. and Mrs. George Hadduck of Russell, Kansas among them.
The parsonage seen on the right.

Hadduck Hall - perhaps the 1948 dedication?

Youth in front of Hadduck Hall in 1951

No comments:

Post a Comment

Become a Friend of Wesley

A special "Friends of Wesley" group is made of individuals, organizations, and businesses who wish to support the historic preservation of the century old and historically significant Wesley Methodist Church (Wesley United Methodist Church) founded in 1910.

The inspiring windows dating to 1928 honored people significant to local Oklahoma City history but also to the history of Oklahoma Methodism.

The church founding and development was guided by lay people who were leaders in Oklahoma City development in real estate, banking, business, and education.

It stands as a rare remaining example of Methodist Churches in the English Gothic style and as work by a significant early architectural firm.

Donations may be sent to:

Church Treasurer
Wesley United Methodist Church
1401 NW 25th
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma