Search This Blog

Sunday, December 29, 2013

The First Building at NW 25th and Douglas

In 1910, on leased property at NW 32nd and Military, a group of people used nearly $300 to buy lumber to build a simple and temporary church.  Within a year as membership soared new opportunities presented to the group and they purchased for $600 several lots at NW 25th Douglas, just off Classen Blvd.

They moved most of the materials from the first structure to this location in 1911 and reused it in the newly redesigned, and slightly larger, facility.  Its heavy use of tarpaper  and large prop up windows earned it the name the "sheep shed."  Soon, however, an extension was added and this can be seen in the image on the right.  As a new minister arrived in 1919, there had been some changes made and by the 1920's renovations, paint and new building made the most of the  structure and the land (see bottom image from 1921).

The lovingly labeled "Sheep Shed"
Due to improvements pushed by Dr. Dutton this revamp was labeled the "Dutton Tabernacle"

No comments:

Post a Comment

Become a Friend of Wesley

A special "Friends of Wesley" group is made of individuals, organizations, and businesses who wish to support the historic preservation of the century old and historically significant Wesley Methodist Church (Wesley United Methodist Church) founded in 1910.

The inspiring windows dating to 1928 honored people significant to local Oklahoma City history but also to the history of Oklahoma Methodism.

The church founding and development was guided by lay people who were leaders in Oklahoma City development in real estate, banking, business, and education.

It stands as a rare remaining example of Methodist Churches in the English Gothic style and as work by a significant early architectural firm.

Donations may be sent to:

Church Treasurer
Wesley United Methodist Church
1401 NW 25th
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma