Search This Blog

Sunday, September 29, 2013

Flesher Class 1928

A group photo of the class on the front steps of the new sanctuary in 1928 was taken by Mitchell Byfield Studios, 907 N. Hudson, Oklahoma City.  Members identified in the photo included: Beatrice Joy Nelson, Jean Thoburn Wyes, Jean Keister Lundquiest, Siri Anderson Carlson, Ramona Allen Cheatwood, Laura Allen Rucker, Julia Alice Goff Wiley, Helen Sellers Sain, Lilliam Snipes,  Aline Carruthers Pfaff, Elly Anderson, Dorothy Downing Larkins Burg, Naomi Alfred, Dorothy (Dottie) Kennedy Davis, Margaret Thompson, Ima Strickland, Frances Aycock, Margaret Klein Wahl, Thelma Louise Saxon Baker, Mrs. William E. Flesher (Abbie, Teacher), Mary Carnahan, Lorraine Springer Schuneman, Mary Wallace, Isabelle Hugh Spangler, Marian Dierdorff, Mildred Armour Frizzell,  Elva Brown Alexander, Jean Alexander.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Become a Friend of Wesley

A special "Friends of Wesley" group is made of individuals, organizations, and businesses who wish to support the historic preservation of the century old and historically significant Wesley Methodist Church (Wesley United Methodist Church) founded in 1910.

The inspiring windows dating to 1928 honored people significant to local Oklahoma City history but also to the history of Oklahoma Methodism.

The church founding and development was guided by lay people who were leaders in Oklahoma City development in real estate, banking, business, and education.

It stands as a rare remaining example of Methodist Churches in the English Gothic style and as work by a significant early architectural firm.

Donations may be sent to:

Church Treasurer
Wesley United Methodist Church
1401 NW 25th
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma