Search This Blog

Thursday, February 13, 2014

The Ladies Have It!

A file containing the worship program for the Dec. 28, 1947 church mortgage burning, clippings with photos from local newspapers and handwritten notes on the history of the church were found - in the papers of the "Women's Society of Christian Service". These latter included "Official Charter Members" and "1953 List of Wesley Members of Golden Years of Service " (with a list of their "Circle" and phone number.)
Also found was a program of the 25th Anniversary of the W.S.C.S. and the Wesleyan Service Guilds, dated January 19, 1964. There was a "Constitution and By-Laws of the W.S.C.S. in the Local Church" as well.
Also, a dedication of the Edward Hadduck Memorial Hall program from August 27, 1948.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Become a Friend of Wesley

A special "Friends of Wesley" group is made of individuals, organizations, and businesses who wish to support the historic preservation of the century old and historically significant Wesley Methodist Church (Wesley United Methodist Church) founded in 1910.

The inspiring windows dating to 1928 honored people significant to local Oklahoma City history but also to the history of Oklahoma Methodism.

The church founding and development was guided by lay people who were leaders in Oklahoma City development in real estate, banking, business, and education.

It stands as a rare remaining example of Methodist Churches in the English Gothic style and as work by a significant early architectural firm.

Donations may be sent to:

Church Treasurer
Wesley United Methodist Church
1401 NW 25th
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma